top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

In Conversation with Sarah Founder and Creator of BY SARAH LONDON


I first came across By Sarah London when browsing the internet one Sunday morning earlier this year. I was researching new products that I could start to implement into my skincare regime with the focus on becoming more conscious of 'home grown' ethical brands with an 'organic' plant based origin featuring high on the ingredient lists.

With so many beauty products saturating the skincare industry, I wanted to go back to basics and fall back in love with the simplicity and power of the ingredients that I once studied, and to actually be more mindful of what I was using on my skin. I wanted to curate a routine that would zone in on my own self-care and wellbeing as well as having a positive environmental impact.

For me, I like to have a balance between plant infused skincare and also active ingredients like AHAs, BHAs and retinoids to really achieve a fusion of skincare that meets all my skin requirements.


I initially purchased the DELUXE DISCOVERY KIT which contains;

Green Clay Cleansing Balm 15ml - a beautifully effective cleanser which is gentle but removes any stubborn make-up leaving the skin free of impurities

Organic Facial Oil 10ml  - award winning, this facial oil contains sweet almond oil, apricot, pumpkin seed, argan, evening primrose and vitamin e

Organic Lip Balm 5ml  - velvety soft award winning lip treatment with a blend of certified-organic virgin coconut oil, apricot oil and beeswax

Organic Muslin Face Cloth - to aid in the removal of the Green Clay Cleansing Balm. Improving skin circulation and gently removing any surface dead skin cells

The great thing about this brand is that you can experience their smaller sized skin care before investing in the full size. They are also perfect for travelling and once the product is finished, you can up-cycle the packaging by getting creative and using them as storage solutions!

Skincare to empower conscious living

This is the vision that Sarah has for the brand.

Sarah's initial creations were driven by her sister Lauren's recovery from leukaemia. The creation of the products came with the promise of transparency, displaying the full ingredient list on the front of each of the products.

With so many external and internal factors that can represent themselves as stressors to our skin, the By Sarah London Collection helps diffuse any sensitivity caused by these aggressors and aid in the replenishment and rebalancing of the complexion by respecting the skins natural functions. I got the opportunity to ask Sarah some questions about the development of By Sarah and about her skincare philosophy.

Read on to find out more about this award winning brand.


WHAT AN INCREDIBLE ACHIEVEMENT TO BE ABLE TO TURN YOUR VISION INTO A REALITY. WHAT IS YOUR BACKGROUND IN SKINCARE?


I have over 10 years of experience in the beauty and well being industry, having worked directly on skincare and consumer brands for L'Oréal, Estee Lauder and Unilever.

Skincare is my passion and over the years, I've acquired an extensive knowledge of ingredients, products and skin types as I am also a BABTAC accredited make up artist.


HOW LONG DID THE DEVELOPMENT PROCESS OF YOUR BRAND IDENTITY AND PRODUCTS TAKE?


I developed plant-based skincare to soothe my sister, Lauren's sensitive skin when she was recovering from leukaemia 7 years ago. I took my childhood hobby more seriously and created natural and organic blends that nurtured Lauren's skin - and they worked.


WHERE DO YOU SOURCE YOUR INGREDIENTS FROM AND WHERE ARE YOUR PRODUCTS FORMULATED?


We use the finest natural and certified-organic, ethically sourced plant-based ingredients from around the world, including organic apricot oil, organic pumpkin seed oil and organic argan oil.


Each of the products in our skincare collection have been formulated by me and each product is hand-blended, packaged and shipped from West-Sussex, England.



WILL YOU BE CREATING ANY NEW ADDITIONS TO THE BY SARAH LONDON PRODUCT FAMILY?


Our Rose Quartz Gua Sha is our latest addition which launched in January 2019! It's a beautiful facial tool to use with the Organic Facial Oil to enhance your every day self-care ritual. Facial techniques to improve circulation and muscle tone are so important as are the mindful qualities of enjoying our skincare collection. I also provide skincare consultations to help you if you are unsure which products will suit your skin, or what might be triggering outbreaks or sensitivities, sharing my expert knowledge of using organic, plant-based skincare to provide personalised advice.


WHAT IS YOUR SKINCARE PHILOSOPHY?


We have a bold and empowering mission of bringing greater clarity, authenticity and simplicity to skincare. BY SARAH LONDON is the only UK skincare collection with the full list of ingredients on the front label across the entire collection.


The pioneering initiative is to help you know exactly what you're putting on your skin - and to showcase the beautiful all-natural and plant-based ingredients inside. This is the new standard in conscious living we're promoting and our core philosophy.



WHAT DO YOU ENJOY MOST ABOUT WHAT YOU DO?


Getting to share the plant-based blends that I created all those years ago for Lauren with so many more people now, from London to Hong Kong and New York, and seeing how much they love the collection.


WHAT IS THE BEST BEAUTY ADVICE YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN?


Drink lots of water - keep your skin hydrated.







68 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page