top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

In Conversation with Nadine Baggott


When Nadine agreed to answer some of my beauty questions I knew she would always answer honestly, it was an amazing opportunity to get an insight to some of her personal opinions on self care, wellbeing, supplements and the ingredient to watch out for in 2020.



Nadine’s extensive career in the beauty industry spans 25 years. A beauty presenter and journalist for Hello!, The Daily Mail and Marie Claire Health and Beauty, with regular appearances on This Morning.

You can find Nadine on various social media channels where she spreads the “Honesty in Beauty” message. She sorts the facts from fiction, the good from the not so good and the hyped products from the hero products that are worth investing in.

She has a loyal following. Her You Tube Channel has 139K followers and focuses on every aspect of the cosmeceutical industry. She discovers the best make up dupes, talks about the best budget skin care buys and what high end products to invest in, as well as educating her followers on how to use active ingredients.




What do you consider most important when transitioning your skincare routine to reflect seasonal changes and the effect this has on your skin?


Honestly to listen to your skin and react to it - I change my routine every day sometimes, but certainly week to week; adding in more or less hydration depending on the weather and how my skin feels, different acid exfoliants, different cleansers.

But do remember it is my job to test and trial products.



Wellness, mindfulness and rituals are becoming a huge part of the way we experience beauty. Our stress levels, diets and lifestyles can impact how our largest organ, the skin, will eventually reflect certain skin conditions and concerns i.e. accelerated ageing, acne and eczema/psoriasis.

What measures do you take to ensure you take care of your overall wellbeing?


I am terrible at self care, don’t even really like the term if I am brutally honest. However, I try to get good quality sleep, eat lots of whole grains, and try but often fail to have lots of fruit and veg. I had a shoulder operation two months ago so I am still rehabing that and unable to get to the gym/back to pilates.


If I am also honest I actually think that most skin doesn’t often react that quickly to lifestyle changes in a major way - I think diet has very little impact on acne and it’s a myth that sweet and fatty foods cause the condition.

I also do not believe in “beauty”

supplements - they are over priced and over hyped. Of course what you eat can affect your skin/hair and nails but only in the very long term - i.e. vegans often suffer from thinning hair, so if you cut a food group from your diet be sure to supplement. I do not eat red meat and so take an amino acid supplement for my hair and nails and a B12 and Vitamin D supplement for energy and immune boosting.


Professional skin care treatments are my speciality. I appreciate a hands on holistic approach but also think that high tech advanced systems can focus on delivering specific results. What is the best facial treatment you have ever received and why?


I generally do not enjoy facials - however IPL can zap pigmentation and redness quickly and effectively, working wonders on rosacea and sun spots.

My favourite spa treatment is full body exfoliation with a good old salt scrub.

What innovative ingredients do you think will be making an impact in our skincare in 2020?


Tranexamic Acid is all set to grow within pigmentation formulations.


Niacinamide is still hot and will continue to be so because it suits all skin types, and retinol is still the most googled ingredient.


I think your refreshingly honest about yourself and your skin in your vlogs and think this really elevates your relatability, especially about owning our own ‘flaws’ and ‘imperfections’. What would be your best beauty advice to enhance self love and self care?


That level of honesty comes with age - you realise that people are too busy looking at their own flaw to notice yours.

Getting older is tough on your looks but it is an opportunity not afforded to all - so we had better embrace it and enjoy it.

I think it helps that I have older role models now that previously did not exist. I only follow women who refuse to filter themselves on social media. I also search out women older than me so that I am not constantly fed a stream of flawless, filtered youth.


Connect with Nadine Baggott


@nadinebaggott

Nadine Baggott Community- Facebook


Photo Credit - Elisabeth Hoff (website source)



142 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page