top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

The Beauty of Mindful Rituals Rose Quartz Facial Tools


 

Transforming a routine into a ritual


I started to become more aware of my skincare routine (or lack of!), after I had my second baby. At the time, I really wasn’t paying much attention to how my skin was feeling. A simple cleanse, tone and moisturise, exfoliating and masking when I had the chance too. It all seemed like too much of an effort. Had I fallen out of love with skincare?!



When I was completing my routine it felt rushed, I was tired and just wanted to get in bed to catch up on some sleep.


Sleep deprivation was really effecting my complexion. Something my 6 month old darling wasn’t aware of! It looked tired, dull, sluggish and congested at times.


I revisited my skincare routine and took time to re-address my concerns, treating myself as I would a client. Analysing my lifestyle changes, sleep patterns, diet, water intake and reviewing skincare and researching the ingredients I knew my skin would benefit from.


After all, this was my career, what I did for a living, but why did it take so long to re-educate myself?


It comes so naturally to me, looking and caring for other people’s skin. Enjoying the challenge of finding solutions and getting excited to see their ongoing skin journeys!


In that moment I knew I had to turn my routine into a ritual - make it a pleasurable experience, something to ground me if I had a bad nights sleep. Something to look forward to at the end of a long day! I wanted to fall back in love with my skincare and it really didn’t take long!


Rose Quartz & Mindfulness


Once I had implemented the above changes, I wanted to take my ritual to the next level and incorporate some facial tools.


I had always been drawn to rose quartz crystals. I started collecting them when I was in my mid twenties. There was something about the colour, the texture and the energies they held and what they represented that made me so fond of them.



Rose Quartz - the 'heart of life' a precious stone, abundant in energy. Acting as a compass for the heart, guiding you to the very essence of 'self love'. I have one placed near my bed to encourage and optimise the feelings of love. Emitting courage, a nurturing support and also linked to your heart chakra.



I decided to do some research regarding rose quartz tools and made my first purchase ~ a rose quartz roller.


Rose Quartz Facial Roller

This simple but effective tool allowed me to focus in on specific movements, once I had applied my serums, oils or moisturisers. Working in the direction of my lymphatic system, I could respect and aid in the detoxification process whilst still benefiting from the combination of essential oils and the relaxing powers they also harness. Through placing the roller in the fridge 10 minutes before using, the cooling sensation would revive my dull, tired complexion, gliding under the eye area to reduce the heaviness and puffiness. It allowed me to quieten my mind and focus on me, it was heavenly!




My next investment was my Rose Quartz Gua Sha. I had done some research on the benefits of this pretty looking object.


A somewhat meditative ritual can be performed with this tool. Used in traditional Chinese medicine for centuries and with its unique shape, it allows for a deeper, specific and more controlled movement across the skin. Releasing tension from the facial muscles, thus improving the immunity and circulatory systems and inducing relaxation.

Actively promoting lymphatic drainage and rebalancing stagnant energies within the systems, which could possibly cause inflammation.


Rose Quartz Gua Sha

After practicing this ritual over a period of time, I noticed that my complexion became clearer, brighter and more radiant in appearance.


My littlest one will be 2 in August and I still regularly incorporate these mindful beauty rituals into my skincare. I also offer them in my professional facial therapies.


By simply adding these mindful beauty rituals, I have not only seen an improvement to my complexion, but this has positively affected my emotional and mental wellbeing. My daily stress levels are reduced just by doing something that sparks joy and gives a sense of meaning to a simple beauty routine.



27 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page