top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

In Conversation with Ruby Hammer MBE Global Make Up Artist

Ruby has contributed over 25 years to the cosmetics industry. Throughout her expansive career she has had the opportunity to collaborate with the worlds most celebrated photographers, hairdressers, art directors, stylists and models.

I am in awe of Ruby and her self belief, something which I think is so important when moving forward with your personal and professional goals and aspirations. When watching and listening to Ruby’s past interviews I feel this always comes across so well.

I respect and admire Ruby’s interpretation of make up. She has always encouraged, through her artistry to enhance natural beauty, to not wear make up as a mask but to let it highlight your key facial features.



The following questions reveal what Ruby’s inspirations are and how she has become such a success in the beauty industry. She speaks of her Mum and Dad blessing her with 'good skin genes' whilst detailing how she makes time to incorporate wellness into her lifestyle.....


What inspired you and gave you the drive to begin and to maintain such a successful career in the make up and beauty industry?

It is simple, I have a passion and a love for my craft and what I do. I am hard working and driven. I push myself to the best of my capabilities. I have been supported in my career and I have given a lot of support to others too. I am open and I and a team player. I am also lucky....I am truly blessed to earn a living from what I love doing!!!

What are the three key products or ingredients that you always reach for to help maintain a healthy looking skin?


My three products to maintain a healthy skin are a good gentle cleanser. A serum with hyaluronic acid and or vitamin c and a good moisturiser to keep skin hydrated. You need to add a fourth and for me that would be sun protection.

  What are your top tips on achieving that no make-up, make-up look? 


Good prep of the skin at the start of make up. Lip balm, eye drops, massage in a moisturiser, maybe a drop or two of oil. Careful use of concealer and all other products. Good colour choice and blending with good tools.

Stand back and assess (this is vital - does the look need more or less)




What’s your favourite beauty look that you enjoy creating that seems to evolve and come back into fashion year upon year? 

I think my signature look is having a great looking skin without a heavy base and with well defined features like eyebrows, eyes and lips.

This will never go out of fashion. It enhances the unique features of someone without being bland or too outrageous. This is what most people want.

Wellness, mindfulness and rituals are becoming a huge part of the way we experience beauty. Our stress levels, diets and lifestyles can impact how our largest organ, the skin, will eventually reflect certain skin conditions and concerns i.e. accelerated ageing, acne and eczema/psoriasis. What measures do you take to ensure you take care of your overall wellbeing? 


One of the first things is my genes....I was blessed here, thanks mum and dad. Then I believe in having a routine or regime, little and often, not bingeing with skin care and hoping it will cover up a multitude of neglect.

Always cleanse, gently exfoliate, hydrate and protect from the sun. The products don’t have to be expensive but suitable for your skin. Get to know your skin and learn what works for you.

Lastly drink water and realise your diet and whether you sleep and exercise, will all have a bearing on your skin and overall wellbeing.


I try to meditate, have massages, manicures and facials regularly to cope with my hectic life. But the most important thing is I am grateful for what I have and do the best I can to be a good person so I can look comfortably at myself in the mirror without guilt or envy!


With the well received launch of your ingenious and sustainable magnetic, three-piece micro brush tool is their more to come from the Ruby Hammer beauty collection?


Yes indeed...there is already a nail kit and plush pots available on my website rubyhammer.com and urban retreat The White House in Knightsbridge.

There are other products that are in the pipe line and will be introduced when ready.....cosmetics too ~ again a small but hand picked range!






Ruby continues to dream big with her latest dreams becoming a reality! Ruby’s new capsule collection gives consumers, like you and I the chance to rediscover Ruby’s eye for detail when it comes to make up and the make up tools we require to perfect and execute the look we desire.

Magnetic Brush Set - Made up of a pointed/crease brush, smudge brush and angled brush. Ideal to use with cream, powder and liquid formulas. Sustainably designed and responsibly made. 100% cruelty free

£28.00


Nail Kit - Glass file and cuticle pushy in a neon travel pouch.

£22.00

To find out more about Ruby Hammer please visit;

The Website


Instagram

@rubyhammer


Twitter

@RubyMakeup






63 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page