top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

Skincare Review Emma Hardie-Moringa Light Cleansing Gel

Updated: Jul 4, 2019

As a Facial Therapist myself, I found it so enlightening to read the inspirational back story to the Emma Hardie brand. Her journey to becoming the UKs most accomplished Holistic Therapist, initially began with the launch of her Natural Lift & Sculpting Facial in 1996 followed by the formulation of her Amazing Face skin care collection in 2009. The collection of must have botanically based products have continued to grow, leading me to the discovery of the Moringa Light Cleansing Gel.

A selection of Emma Hardie Skincare

Insider Knowledge...


I wanted to expand on my understanding of this skin care brand, and was fortunate to have the opportunity to communicate with Jane Foulston, Emma Hardie Skincare Director, to elaborate on some questions I had. The first being where the concept for the Moringa Light Cleansing Gel originated from. Jane explains, "A new addition to the Moringa family, the Moringa Light Cleansing Gel was designed as a lightweight gel, to purify, refresh and revitalise the skin. Suitable for all skin types, ages and great for men too." I found that this cleansing gel ticked all the above. A perfect transitional cleansing product, that suited my current normal to combination skin type.



The Power of Moringa

Moringa Seed Oil was an integral element that drew me initially to this range. It is one of the key botanical ingredients infused in both the Moringa Light Cleansing Gel and the original award winning Moringa Cleansing Balm.


After initially researching the benefits of Moringa Seed Oil, I found it possessed such skin restorative benefits;

  • Powerful anti ageing properties

  • Protects the skin against free radical damage with its antioxidant qualities

  • Antiseptic and anti inflammatory - rich in vitamins A,C and E

  • Detoxifies, purifies and balances oil production

  • Helps fight acne causing bacteria, reducing blemishes and heals existing breakouts

Fascinated by the powerful effects ingredients possess, I wanted to discover more, especially regarding the sourcing story behind the Moringa oil used in the cleansing formulas.


Jane tells me, "The Moringa Tree found in Africa and India has been referred to as 'the tree that never dies' and 'the miracle tree'. Every part of the Moringa plant can benefit our health, wellbeing and skin. In Africa and India where it grows, the women eat the plant to help aid a radiant, glowing complexion as well as helping to purify water. The Moringa seed is a compact nutrient powerhouse and is exceptionally good for the skin."



The Experience

A truly luxurious, almost spa-like sensation was experienced when I initially massaged this cleanser into my skin. The aroma is light and in no way over-powering. It pumps out of the bottle as a gel, light and silky in texture, transforming into a refined oil, which lends itself to an 'at-home facial' experience. I perform a good 3-5 minute massage based cleanse, focusing on stroking this product into my skin.


The Emma Hardie Skincare cleansing technique practices a 'lines not circles' method when applying and removing products. Jane explains, "By using linear strokes rather than circles helps to work with the natural grain of your facial tissues and skin, which in turn helps to encourage a fresher, healthier complexion. Thus, improving circulation and lymphatic drainage and bringing up moisture from the lower levels (of the skin)."


When water is added, the cleanser emulsifies into a dreamy milky texture. Once removed I feel like my skin has received a deep but gentle cleanse. Even though this is positioned as a gel cleanser, there is no stickiness or residue left when removed, which I often find you can get with gel formulas. Instead, it is surprisingly rich and concentrated, my skin is left hydrated and not in the least bit tight, more plumped and dewy. Additional skin enhancing ingredients such as Sweet Almond Oil, Omega 6 Vitamin E and Grapeseed Oil nourish, smooth and soften the skin.


Skin Loving Ingredients, Directions for Use, Expert Tips


This has become my go-to cleansing product, a true investment for the skin and senses. The Moringa Light Cleansing Gel has delivered everything I wanted from my current everyday cleanser. The only thing I would change would be that it was available in a tube rather than a pump, so you can ensure every last bit is used. This product is far too good to waste!




Cleanse, Hydrate and Treat




Turn your Cleansing Routine into a Ritual

Turning your cleansing routine into a mindful, well-being practice, that can take up to as little as 10 minutes a day or for as long as you wish for it to last and can be a valuable addition to your self care ritual.


Simply by investing time to really connect with your sense of touch and smell, allowing this to help encourage a state of calm and relaxation for the skin and mind can be a powerful thing. With this in mind I ask Jane how can we learn to be more mindful when it comes to our beauty and skincare routines. "We find that being more mindful to a 'better health' will help beauty and skincare routines. A good approach to health will result in good skin in conjunction with great skincare products and a daily skin care regime. It's about finding balance - a good routine complemented by practicing a healthier lifestyle through stress-relieving activities and a well balanced diet. Minimise stress in your life if you can - plenty of sleep and regular exercise, even walking for 10 minutes can give you a daily holistic boost you need."


You can currently experience the Emma Hardie Natural Lift & Sculpting Facial at the Beauty Lounge in Harvey Nichols, Knightsbridge, London as well as selected Space NK Apothecaries. For more details and available dates check the website www.emmahardie.com


Emma Hardie Moringa Light Cleansing Gel 100ml £34.00 Available here from Marks & Spencer


I hope you have enjoyed reading this review. Will you make some subtle tweaks to the ways in which you look after your skin according to the seasonal changes? Share below in the comments.


Have a wonderful day.

Lindsay x


#skincare #skincareroutine







63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page