top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

Q&A Beauty, Skincare and Lifestyle Edit In Conversation with.... This is Mothership

Updated: Oct 8, 2019

This is Mothership, founded by Samantha Silver, an award winning beauty journalist and beauty director at Stylist Magazine and Gemma Rose Breger, an in-demand fashion & celebrity stylist, was one of the first accounts I followed for fashion, beauty and lifestyle content that really inspired me. With such down to earth qualities covering things that were and still are relatable to me today.



I remember first joining Instagram, I was a new mum and 6 months into my maternity leave.

I felt like I had completely lost my identity. 


Accounts like Sam & Gemma’s allowed me to follow my aspirations and to learn to understand that juggling motherhood with other every day tasks was not easy. They were not judging others but supporting others in their own journey and experiences of motherhood.


Scrolling through Sam and Gemma’s IG is just like having a virtual, interactive magazine I can pick up as and when I have 5 minutes to discover the latest trends in fashion and beauty, with access to insightful everyday parenting highs and lows, as well as watching all the amazing interviews they have done and events they organise. I love how their account has evolved, documenting their personal and professional life experiences. 

My boys are now 5 and 2 years old and I am starting to find my own flow with my instagram page and blog/journal writing and throughly enjoying every aspect of it.

So as I pursue my dream within the beauty industry, whilst rediscovering my passion for writing, it’s a privilege to ask both Sam & Gemma questions with regards to their skin care rituals and how they incorporate self care into their busy lives.


What are you thoughts on sustainability within the beauty industry and what is most important to you when choosing to invest in skincare?


Sustainability is vitally important. The beauty industry has an issue with excess packaging which is something that we have campaigned against for a while. Recylability is incredibly important to us and we have worked with Terracycle in the past to raise awareness of how to recycle beauty products and packaging. As we transition into the autumnal season do you like to switch up your skincare? Which 3 products do you like to incorporate into you routine to ensure your skin remains healthy and balanced? 


Yes, we have both noticed a real change in our skin post-summer. We've incorporated hyaluronic acid to boost skins hydration in the form of Decleor's Antidote Serum, we have started to exfoliate to remove dead, post-summer skin that is dulling the skins surface and to allow our products to penetrate using Paula's Choice BHA and we have upped our dosage of Tan Luxe Serum to keep our skin glowing. Becoming a mother has really taught me the importance of self care and looking after ones self to ensure we can look after others. I love to light my favourite candle and indulge in a mini skincare routine whilst enjoying complete silence (a rarity when you have two little ones running around!) I would also love to get back into yoga at some point too.... How do you replenish your energy levels and how do you like to incorporate self care into your busy lives?


This is such an important topic and one we talk about a lot. We each book ourselves an at home treatment  using the mobile app Ruuby once a month when our kids are asleep. That's our little bit of me-time, whether it's a facial, massage, mani or indian head massage.

We also regularly have Instagram free weekends to really unwind from the pressures of social media.

What would be the one beauty treatment you couldn’t live without and why?


A facial. Massages are amazing in the moment but a facial has lasting results. That and a glossy gel mani. No matter how bad you feel, if you glance down at nicely done nails you always feel well put together.



If you would like to find out more about This is Mothership search for them on Instagram or visit their you tube channel and website.


Take a scroll through, you can thank me later! 🖤

40 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page