top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

In Conversation with Professional Make Up Artist Victoria Bond


A career in professional make up artistry has seen Victoria Bond create looks for Chanel, Cartier, Zara and Burberry. She has worked her make-up magic on high profile celebrities such as Orlando Bloom (swoon!) and Phoebe Waller Bridge to mention a select few.

Victoria's editorials have featured in The TelegraphThe GuardianThe New YorkerBritish VogueL’OfficielStellaNylon and Interview Magazine. She is a self confessed make-up enthusiast!

I love lotions, potions, and all things beauty. I like products that work. As a make-up artist the product has to do it’s job, or I’m in big trouble. So if I recommend a product, it’s because I’ve put it to the test!

You can find Victoria on Instagram @victoriabond007 where she creates looks inspired by the latest trends from the catwalks of; New York, Paris, London and Milan. She transitions these looks by making high fashion looks wearable for others interested in make up. Her website is also full of amazing features from the best way to apply concealer and foundation and how to shape your brows.

I just love working with make-up the power to transform is amazing….

Victoria has kindly answered my questions about life as a professional make up artist and has given her insider expert tips on her most trusted products we also discuss how to create the perfect natural brow...

How did you know that make up artistry was the career path for you?


I don’t ever feel like I’m working and I can’t wait to get to work. I love the job and all the great people I get to work with. This is my dream job and I feel really fortunate to get to do it.


What has been the highlight of your career so far?


Working with Chanel has been a dream come true for me. I have worked with amazing VIP’s like Poppy Delevingne and Eleanor Tomlinson, appeared in a beauty video and headed up a Presentation with the royal ballet for Chanel Fine Jewellery.



I have also been fortunate to work for Burberry getting VIP’s like Orlando Bloom and Noomi Rapace ready for the shows.


Shoot wise I have worked with Phoebe Waller-Bridge for the New Yorker with Richard Burbridge. I have also been lucky to work on the James Bond Premier and Junket with talented actor Andrew Scott.




Where do you look for inspiration when your given a brief to create a certain look for an editorial magazine?


I try not to look at recent work of other artists. I don’t really want to recreate what they have already put out there.


I don’t over reference and I don’t look to the past. I very much like to live in the present when it comes to ideas. I tend to find the clothes, the model and any new beauty launches inspirational.

I take it from there and just let the makeup flow with intuition and of course a great team. I am fortunate to work with some really amazing people.


What’s your favourite beauty trend that seems to stand the test of time?


The red lip you cannot beat it. Done correctly it completely transforms a woman’s face and her confidence. It’s such a bold powerful statement I love it.



What steps do you include in your current home skin care routine? What products are you currently loving at the moment and why?


Oh gosh I am skin care mad my regime is mental… take a deep breath....


I always cleanse - I remove any eye makeup with Guerlain lash protecting biphase pure radiance cleanser. I then use either Elemis pro-collagen cleansing balm or Chanel Sublimage oil gel cleanser.


I exfoliate once a week with Codex beauty exfoliating wash.  I massage into my face for at least 5 minutes then I hot cloth this off.


I tone with Omorovicza Queen of Hungry Mist, then apply Goku Jyunhydrating lotion I press this into my skin.


At Night I use Face Theory Regena calm serum (retinol) I press this into the skin.


Night and day Chanel Sublimage eye cream gently patted under the eye and around lips.


Night and day Omorovicza Miracle Facial Oil massaged thoroughly onto face and neck.


Then Sisley global anti age moisturiser. In the day I would add Neutrogena Face Shield, It’s SPF 110 this is a dream for me I’m so fair skinned. I wear this all year round.


I think it’s important to protect the skin at all times with an SPF

Chanel Hydra Beauty lip balm on the lips.



I mask twice a week I vary this between Chanel Sublimage mask, Le Lift Mask, or the Hydra Beauty Camelia mask. It depends on what my skin needs.


Having just written this down I’m surprised I can fit doing anything else in a day!



Having to stay home in these unprecedented times and until restrictions are lifted, how are you incorporating or adapting your wellness and relaxation routines into your daily life?


I run or walk everyday as I need to take out my Son and dog. I live in the countryside so we get plenty of fresh air which I think is really important.


I try to do some Pilates every other day for 15-20 minutes just at home on my own as I would normally attend a class

I have had meditation sessions over the phone with Tracie Cant which I found really beneficial I would normally go and see Tracie.


I like to read and cook finding tasty new meals that helps pass the time and keep us healthy.

I just like to keep busy ... I have just started growing my own vegetable’s which I have wanted to do for ages.



Here are Victoria’s Top tips for....



Creating a full natural brow look


First make sure there is no other makeup/ skin car in the eyebrow. Brush up with a brow brush to create volume. Fill in with a pencil or powder (powder tends to be softer more natural). Set with a clear brow gel. Hold a finger over the gel until it sets otherwise they may move.



Adding a healthy glow to your complexion


I like to use illuminators and cream products like Tan de Chanel. Also prepping the skin with a facial oil before foundation gives a lovely luminosity.



Perfecting a classic nude lip


Mac Subculture has to be the best nude I use it all the time. It’s slightly pinky and really good if you need to cheat and reshape lips.



Finding the perfect blusher


After exercising have a look at the colour you skin goes this is a good indicator of what blush would suit you.

Just experiment mix colours, textures, highlighters. Have fun don’t be afraid. There is no right or wrong if you like it then it’s a hit!

55 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page