top of page
  • Writer's pictureLindsay Ryan

The Facial Cupping Expert Q&A with Sakina Di Pace

Have you ever wondered what facial cupping is?

I started to research the method and the effects it has on our skin a few months back and came across Sakina’s informative and easy to navigate website. I was looking for an alternative, non-invasive facial treatment that would help to rejuvenate and refresh the complexion. I wanted it to become part of a weekly facial routine, focusing at least 5-10 minutes of my time enhancing my existing facial massage routine at home and something I could introduce in my own holistic facial therapies.


Sakina found it challenging through lockdown to continue to treat her clients. So she developed her 6 point protocol so her clients and others who were interested in facial cupping could follow a routine in the comfort of their own home that would deliver the desired results.


Eager to discover more, Sakina agreed to share her knowledge from the benefits of facial cupping, the importance of consistency and how she cares for her own well being....






What is your background in holistic therapies and traditional Chinese medicine?


I studied Chinese Medicine at the College of Integrated Chinese Medicine in Reading back in 2008. Over the course of nearly four years of study, I learnt about acupuncture, moxibustion, cupping, gua-sha and diet. It was a life-changing experience.


Once I graduated, I worked in the UK (England and Scotland) as well as in the US on a Cruise ship where I treated hundreds of patients. I also studied Swedish massage in Edinburgh to complement my acupuncture practice.



Where does facial cupping originate from?


Facial Cupping is becoming popular, but the technique itself is very ancient. Cupping has been part of many healing systems (Chinese, Unani, traditional Korean, Tibetan, and Oriental medicine) throughout the centuries. This ancient technique is still being used simply because it works. If it didn’t work, this technique would have been forgotten. 


How did you first get into facial cupping?


I got into Facial Cupping when I started treating patients who were suffering from Bell’s palsy and trigeminal neuralgia. As well as using my needles, I started to gently use facial cups on their faces to stimulate their paralysed muscles and to alleviate their pain. It was so successful that I thought that if Facial Cupping could stimulate paralysed muscles, it would certainly help to regain elasticity in the skin of my cosmetic acupuncture patients. That’s when I started

incorporating facial cupping into my cosmetic acupuncture treatments.





What is facial cupping?


Facial Cupping is an alternative therapy that uses suction cups (which could be made of glass, bamboo or silicon) on the face. It stimulates your facial muscles as well as all the different layers of the skin.



How does it work?


When you squeeze your Facial Cup on an area of your face, it creates suction which pulls blood towards the surface of the skin underneath the cup. As a result, this fills up the surrounding tissue with fresh blood and encourages new blood vessel formation. 


In other words, it increases the blood circulation of your face. This suction also creates a controlled mini trauma to the skin (the same way as micro needling or derma roller would). This sets off the natural healing process of the skin. It sends more oxygenated blood to the area, stimulates collagen and fibroblasts, and encourages the skin cells to reproduce.


What oil should one use to complete their facial cupping massage?


I highly recommend using prickly pear seed oil. It is the best anti-ageing oil in the beauty market, as it is extremely rich in vitamin E. It acts as a natural anti-ageing treatment.  


It’s full of essential fatty acids, and helps to restore skin elasticity and firmness.  It’s also high in antioxidants, protecting the skin against sun damage.



What would you say are the key benefits of introducing facial cupping into your daily routine?


It’s a 5-minute self-care routine that helps you to relax your facial muscles but also to relax your mind.  

You will feel good after a session and start to see your skin becoming more “alive”. Your fine lines start to fade away.  Your whole face is freshened up.



Why is consistency so important when it comes to facial cupping?


Consistency is key when it comes to Facial Cupping. But I think it’s key to anything we want to achieve in life!  


The effect of facial cupping is cumulative. Each session builds upon the other.  The first week is like a wake-up call for your skin. You do it for 5 minutes every night. 


Then in the second week, every other day.  You’ll start to have a better understanding of the technique, and you’ll start to enjoy more and more the sessions, as you won’t have to think too much about each movement you’re doing. 


Then, from the third week onward, I recommend doing Facial Cupping 1-3 times a week. You’ll definitely see your skin becoming brighter, tighter and younger in these first three weeks.



What are the contraindications of facial cupping?


You can use facial cupping when you’re pregnant, but

Do not use Facial Cupping :

• Over Botox in the area you are cupping

• Over very thin skin that bruises easily

• Over any area with broken capillaries

• Over open wounds, skin lesions, sores, or burns on your face and/or necK

Over multiple moles in the treatment area


Always start with a gentle suction


Keep the cups moving at all time to avoid any bruising



How did you design your 6 step protocol?


I designed my 6-step protocol during lockdown. As I couldn’t see my patients anymore, I had to find a solution to help them continue their facial treatment at home. I tried to make it very simple so everyone could follow each step and see the results as if it were me

doing the treatment.



How do you look after your own wellbeing?


As a mum of two young boys and opening a new business, you can imagine I don’t have much time for myself. So the best way I can look after my wellbeing is to look after my mind. I can do this 24/7! I try to keep things simple in life so my mind is not overloaded.




Sakina has created an at home Facial Cupping Kit that is available to buy from her website. This is where you also have access to the 6 Step Protocol so you can achieve the results at home and continue to benefit from the method of using facial cups as part of your own skin care rituals.

@thefacialcuppingexpert






172 views0 comments
Untitled

CONTACT

Thanks for your interest in Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. For more information, feel free to get in touch and I will get back to you soon!

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram

Your details were sent successfully!

Untitled

ALL THE INFO

What You Need to Know

What is it that fuels you? For me, it’s Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness. I love writing about my passions, what interest me, what interests others, and sharing all of my thoughts with my readers.

Lindsay Ryan Beauty & Wellness is truly my own little passion project, gaining more and more traction each day. I hope you enjoy browsing my site and all of the unique content I have to offer. Take a look around; perhaps you’ll discover what fuels you as well. Read on and enjoy!

bottom of page